# Seattle Ethics and Elections Commission Regular Meeting February 3, 2016

The regularly scheduled meeting of the Seattle Ethics and Elections Commission convened on February 3, 2016 in Room 4080 of the Seattle Municipal Tower, 700 Fifth Avenue. Commission Chair Eileen Norton called the meeting to order at 4:01 p.m. Vice-Chair Brendan Donckers and Commissioners Charlene Angeles, Bruce Carter, Alexandra McKay, Vickie Rawlins and Hardeep Rekhi were in attendance. Executive Director Wayne Barnett and staff members Anthony Adams, Kate Flack and Polly Grow were present. Assistant City Attorney Jeff Slayton was also in attendance.

#### 1) **Public Comment**

Queen Pearl said that constituents should have the ability to schedule appointments with Mayor Murray, as well as information on his press conferences, none of which is available.

Alex Tsimerman also called for more accountability in the Mayor's office and better accessibility, seconding Queen Pearl's opinion that Mayor Murray needs to have both a question and answer section, and a calendar to schedule appointments with concerned voters.

Sophie Madden is an active supporter of I-122 and said that if Honest Election Seattle is implemented effectively, it could create a template for other cities around the country to follow.

# **Action Items**

# 2) Meeting minutes for December 2, 2015

Commissioner Angeles asked for a correction to some dates on the last page of the minutes, and then made a motion to approve the December 2, 2015 minutes as amended. Vice-Chair Donckers seconded the motion. The minutes for the December 2, 2015 Regular Commission meeting were unanimously approved as amended.

1

### 3) Appeal of \$1,500 late-filing penalty assessed against Vote Sawant committee

Philip Locker, Political Director for the Vote Sawant re-election committee; Brian Watson, Campaign Finance Director; and Dan DiLeva, Campaign Treasurer, were all present to appeal the \$1,500 late-filing penalty assessed by the Executive Director.

Mr. Locker urged the Commission to reduce the fine, saying that the errors were made in good faith and resulted from the campaign's record of amassing many small donors. The Director said that the penalty was proportional, and reminded the Commission that the Vote Sawant committee had already paid a \$500 penalty earlier in the election cycle.

The Seattle Ethics and Elections Commission decided to enter into Executive Session at 4:37 p.m.

Following the Executive Session, Vice-Chair Donckers moved that the Commission deny the committee's appeal. Commissioner Carter seconded the motion. The appeal of the \$1,500 late-filing penalty was unanimously denied.

#### **Discussion Items**

# 5) I-122 briefing

Alan Durning, the founder and director of the Sightline Institute and a key member of the team that drafted I-122, briefed the Commission on what the advocates hoped to achieve with I-122, and some of the key issues he saw facing the Commission as it worked to implement the program.

## 6) Executive Director's report

Mr. Barnett took the time to welcome the new Commissioners – Alexandra McKay, Vickie Rawlins, and Hardeep Rekhi.

The Executive Director outlined the process underway for identifying a successor for Gary Keese, who will be retiring soon. A first round of interviews has been completed and went well. Commissioner Carter asked about efforts to hire a project manager to oversee the implementation of I-122, and the Director said that work is also underway.

The Director also briefed the Commission on meetings he had with newly elected King County Elections Director, Julie Wise, and Michael Mattmiller, the City's Chief Technology Officer, on implementing I-122.

### Action Items

# 4) Resolutions honoring departing Commissioners Axel, Cohan, and Sherman

The Executive Director presented the Commission with resolutions honoring departing Commissioners Axel, Cohan, and Sherman for their extraordinary efforts and contributions to the Seattle Ethics and Elections Commission. Vice-Chair Donckers moved to approve the resolutions. Chair Norton seconded. The resolutions honoring departing Commissioners Axel, Cohan, and Sherman were unanimously approved.

The Regular Commission meeting for February 3, 2015 adjourned at 6:00 p.m.